The First Step Is the Hardest

The saying goes “A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.”

I don’t know about you, but that FIRST step seems to be the hardest thing in life. Even though I know in the logical part of my mind that once I get started I will wonder what took me so long!

Why does the goal seem SO FAR AWAY??

So far this past YEAR I’ve been sitting here at the start of this looking at the destination (represented by the horizon of the featured image of this post).

It seems SO FAR AWAY and there are SO MANY HILLS between here and there! I feel like most of my life has been like that. I want something but it just seems SO HARD and then I just don’t even TRY. So sad.

I have done a lot of learning over the past year, but I have to be honest with myself that I have not taken appropriate ACTION to get to this lofty goal.

What have I tried so far?

Before this year, I have tried a lot of things but without the proper amount of effort to REALLY be successful.

I’ve done network marketing with several companies. I have self-published a few poetry books. I have several profiles on various Print On Demand art websites. I also did Google AdSense on my other blogs without much profit.

I am going to be going back to some of these but this time with much more urgency.

This past year I have looked at Shopify and monetizing using Affiliate Marketing and Google AdSense. I need to really dig deeper into these to figure out the “magic secret.”

What will be different?

The first difference will be the effort.

Even though I *HATE* doing self-promotion, I have to bite the bullet and JUST DO IT. Plus I am looking into how to make Facebook advertising actually turn into ACTUAL SALES or at the very least views and/or ad clicks for me to get revenue.

I have some things to straighten out before I can go back to some of these, but I think that it is worth the effort to go back to things that I love and believe in.

SO… for the past year I have been reading books, and watching webinars, and working to figure all this out.

There are some Facebook and LinkedIn options that are supposedly cost effective but the tutorials seem geared more towards people who are selling services and not to people like me who just want to sell items in a nearly automated way.

I am still trying to get a handle on the FREE options since Shopify stores rely heavily on advertising (which I do not have the budget for).

There is something I am missing. I just have to figure out what it is and then DO IT! Wish me luck!

Thanks for reading!
~ Niccolea Miouo

Have you done any online marketing of your product? Have you tried affiliate marketing? I would love to hear YOUR story!
Please share in the comments or via the Contact page.  Looking forward to hearing from you!

hills - By Luca Zanon

saul night 1 - edited and cropped
Hi! My name is Niccolea Miouo Nance.  I am a freelance writerpoet, artist, amateur fire-spinner, and soon to be world traveler via sailboat. I love learning new things and challenging myself (hence this project). Above all else, I love to enjoy life and be spontaneous.

Leave a Reply

