After the Silence – 3 Steps to Come Back When You’ve Been Slacking

- GRAPHIC - 3 STEPS TO COME BACK WHEN YOU HAVE BEEN SLACKING

We all do it every now and then. We stop working. We take a pause. I’ve been doing that with this blog (and my others). I have been reading and watching and listening and trying to figure out the HOW of this dream bubble plan that I am making for myself. Then I look up and WEEKS have gone by. Has that ever happened to you? Have you had a schedule and you totally fell off of it? Now what?

For me, I have to update my plan. I have to:

  • Recharge (Rest)
  • Reflect
  • Refresh

I  could probably do a whole post about each one of these, but for today we will do the condensed version. ^_^

#1 – Recharge

Dollarphotoclub_53035204-small-rest and recharge- edited 2

REST IS IMPORTANT!

I think what happens (to me at least, and maybe you can relate) is that I have SO MUCH to do and I work so hard to get to EVERYTHING. Then I just get pooped. Productivity and efficiency and accuracy suffer. I am just going and going and no longer getting the benefits of all this mental input.

At this point, there is nothing left to do but STOP. I have to just allow myself to be still and just veg out. Sometimes only for an hour or two. In extreme cases where I am off for days or weeks at a time, then I have to rest for a day or two.

 

Of course you don’t want to OVER rest to the point that you have lost ALL momentum and it is hard to get back going again. That balance varies from person to person so be very aware of your own limits/needs in this area.

One thing to do once you have had a bit of rest, but BEFORE you get back into high gear is…

#2 – Reflect

thinking reflect - edited 2
TAKE TIME TO THINK ABOUT IT

Really, reflection should be part of the daily routine. Every night before you go to bed, you should think about how the day went and plan for the next day with ideas on how to keep improving your progress.

Of course, if you are like me, you can get so caught up in the goal orientation that you just focus on the GO GO GO and not on the actual quality of the quantity. In this case, after a bit of rest to recharge, it’s time to examine the plan and be sure that the track is the right one to be on.

This is the “Review” portion of what I was talking about in the “Knowing vs Doing” post. Whether you call it Review or Reflect, it is still a very helpful and necessary process.

Sometimes this process will lead you to realize that the focus has been off and you need to redirect. This is when you may need to…

#3 – Refresh

 

keep-calm-and-start-it-all-over-again-2 - REFRESH.jpg
SOMETIMES
YOU JUST GOTTA START AGAIN

You may not have to go back to the very beginning, but you may at least have to kind of “relaunch” your plan. (You see the “re” theme here, yeah?)

In my case, I am learning a lot of new things. Some of them require me to take a hard look at all the things that I already have out there and I will need to take a lot down to replace it with more useful and relevant information.

Maybe you are at that point. You’ve done the resting to recharge. You took the time to review and reflect on your progress. Now, you are at the point where you see the need to refresh your efforts.

Of course the word “Refresh” has another meaning. If you have recharged then you should FEEL refreshed too!

One of the things that I learned from reading Les Brown’s eBook: 7 Steps to Achieving the Best Financial Destiny was that one’s ENERGY as we go along on our path is important. That is why it is important to RE-fresh yourself!

So… hopefully you get the chance to recharge, reflect, and refresh YOUR project or work!

Thanks for reading!
~ Niccolea

Are you coming back from a hiatus (intended or not)? What did you find helpful to get you back in the game? I would love to hear from you in the comments below! ^_^

 

saul night 1 - edited and cropped
Hi! My name is Niccolea Miouo Nance.  I am a poet, artist, amateur fire-spinner, and soon to be world traveler via sailboat. I love learning new things and challenging myself (hence this project). Above all else, I love to enjoy life and be spontaneous.

 

What comes up when you search “Refresh” in Amazon.com? THIS DOES!
(Just a silly little link of things you may or may not need. No purchase necessary of course. ^_^)

One thought on “After the Silence – 3 Steps to Come Back When You’ve Been Slacking

  1. Pingback: After the Silence – 3 Steps to Come Back When You’ve Been Slacking | Niccolea Writes

Leave a Reply

