Getting Over Intimidation – WordPress.org

I really have NO logical reason why I have a complete brain block when it comes to WordPress.org! And yet… I have had my domain name for a few weeks now without working on it. *Sigh*

Today I had a few projects in mind but ended up trying to navigate the WP themes so that I could launch the site that I paid good money for.

What was throwing me off was how the themes are arranged in the dot org. Here on the dot com version of WP, I am used to all the themes just coming up to choose from when I click “Customize” … On the dot org version, you have to install the themes to your site. It’s way easier than that sentence sounds. WP gives you the option to do a live preview so that if you already have content, you can see what it looks like in the theme’s template.

I have narrowed it down to two themes that I like for different reasons. One because of its simplicity and one because of its sleek appearance. I think I am leaning towards the clean, simple one.

 

2016-08-01 (1)

What we are looking at here is a preview of the clean and simple version of the rough draft Welcome Page. Coming together slowly but surely!

 

So… What I have is the beginning of the site that will be the end result of all this research. I may do a few other sites under this one but with their own domain names. SIDE NOTE: I did NOT know that was even a thing! I can have multiple sites with their own unique URLs that are all technically under the umbrella of the first site (behind the scenes anyways).

I am learning SO MUCH STUFF! Looking forward to sharing it with you as I go along and sharing the end result of figuring out how to ACTUALLY MAKE MONEY with all of this. Stay tuned!

Thanks for reading!
~ Niccolea

Are you working on a new website? What have been your challenges/triumphs? I would love to hear from you in the comments! ^_^

Leave a Reply

