My Free Education – Les Brown eBook: 7 Steps to Achieving the Best Financial Destiny

Stop asking - Start working

Below are the notes I took from watching the video on the landing page to download the free eBook.  Most of it is word for word what Mr Brown said except where I added a parenthetical in italics.

After watching the short video, I feel like this is more of my Knowing-vs-Doing theory that I wrote about before. I choose to take this as reinforcement for my mental process. I got a great idea that I can formulate into an action and I hope you get something out of it too. So here you go:

7 Steps to Achieving the Best Financial Destiny

Step 1: MILLIONAIRE MINDSET

  • How much money do you want to create?
  • What are you going to do with it?
  • Write it down. (A plan is easier to follow when it is written down.)
  • Bring value. What do you have to exchange for the money you want?

TRAIN YOUR MIND TO SERVE YOU!

“When you determine what a man shall think, you do not have to concern yourself about what he will do. If you can make a man feel inferior, you do not have to compel him to accept an inferior status, for he will seek it himself. If you can make a man feel justly an outcast, you do not have to order him to the back door. He’ll go without being told. And if there is no back door, his very nature will demand one.”
– Dr. Carter G Woodson

(The above quote is a very sad statement about the mental training of the Black American. Turn it around though and if you train yourself to be BETTER and STRONGER, then you will MAKE the way that you need to SUCCEED.)

Step 2: READ SOMETHING POSITIVE EVERY DAY

  • Read 30-40 pages of something positive every day.
  • We can control the thoughts that we dwell on by reading things that encourage, uplift, inspire, and motivate.
  • This will help the subconscious be conditioned to think more positively which will effect the conscious thoughts.
  • LISTEN TO SOMETHING POSITIVE EVERY DAY
  • INFORMATION IS KEY – The internet gives everyday people access to the same information that wealthy people have.
  • Information that is APPLIED in your life is power. (This is what I was saying in my Knowing vs Doing post!)

 

Step 3: NETWORK OF (POSITIVE) FRIENDS

  • If you’re the smartest one in your group, you need to get a new group!
  • Create a network of friends that you can learn and grow from.
  • You want friends that have more than you, who will challenge you, that will bring some value into your life.

 

Step 4: DEDICATION

  • Be willing to dedicate yourself to do whatever is required.

“All you can do is all you can do and all you can do is enough, but make sure you do all you can do”
– Arthur L Williams

 

Step 5: HAVE/FOLLOW A SYSTEM

  • Controlling your financial future requires a reliable system.
  • You must learn to put together a system.
  • Have people around you with the knowledge and skills to put together systems that you can execute.

 

Step 6: ENERGY

  • You’ve got to be FIRED UP! You’ve got to be HUNGRY!
  • You have to be willing to do the things that others won’t do in order to have the things tomorrow others won’t have.
  • The energy that you must invest should be above what is commonly accepted. (Go BEYOND the expected!)
  • WHAT IS YOUR STRATEGY FOR BEING HERE?
  • The work and dedication required means that you should get a physical check up, exercise, eat right, etc.
  • SET ASIDE TIME TO TAKE CARE OF YOURSELF. (Caveat for me: I see a lot of folk using “self-care” as an excuse to be inactive and not work towards their goals. It is a fine line between self-care and slacking off sometimes. I NEED TO NOT CROSS THAT LINE.)

Step 7: MANAGE YOUR TIME

  • Time is important! Where are you putting your time?
  • How are you using your talents, skills, and abilities?
  • It’s important to prioritize activities. (This one is my downfall right now!)
  • What is important to you? What is it that you NEED to do?
  • Make a list of 7 action steps that will move you in the direction of your dreams. (I just did this recently! I think each of the 7 steps has some sub-steps but I have a high level list made.)(^_^)

ACTION PLAN:

  • When you get ready to go to sleep at night, think about what is it that you want to get out of the day that is coming up. — Most people just want to get through the day. You want to GET SOMETHING OUT OF the day!
  • Write out 7 things for the next day that will get you closer to your dreams before you go to bed each night. (I think my problem with this one is that I don’t have a DAILY list. I don’t know what to do EACH DAY. Something I will have to work on.)
  • When you wake up in the morning look at your list for the day first thing.
  • DON’T DO ANYTHING ELSE UNTIL YOU HAVE CHECKED THEM ALL OFF! 
  • Make a habit of taking 7 action steps DAILY.

So in summary:
7 Steps to Achieving the Best Financial Destiny
Step 1: HAVE A MILLIONAIRE MINDSET
Step 2: READ SOMETHING POSITIVE EVERY DAY
Step 3: BUILD A NETWORK OF (POSITIVE) FRIENDS
Step 4: HAVE DEDICATION
Step 5: HAVE AND FOLLOW A SYSTEM
Step 6: HAVE ENERGY
Step 7: MANAGE YOUR TIME

(I really need to learn how to do cute info-graphics to put in these posts! Maybe I’ll update this after I watch a tutorial or two!)

What are your thoughts? Have you done any or all of these steps? How did that work for you? I would love to hear from you in the comments. ^_^

 

saul night 1 - edited and cropped
Hi! My name is Niccolea Miouo Nance.  I am a poet, artist, amateur fire-spinner, and soon to be world traveler via sailboat. I love learning new things and challenging myself (hence this project). Above all else, I love to enjoy life and be spontaneous.

 

 

2 thoughts on “My Free Education – Les Brown eBook: 7 Steps to Achieving the Best Financial Destiny

  1. Pingback: After the Silence – 3 Steps to Come Back When You’ve Been Slacking | Starting From Zero

  2. Pingback: After the Silence – 3 Steps to Come Back When You’ve Been Slacking | Niccolea Writes

Leave a Reply

