My Free Education, Part 3 – Creating an Online Course

Create Your 1st Online Course (In 5 Lessons)

One thing that is a common thread among all of the free courses (pdf or email) and the free book I gotEMAIL LISTS ARE IMPORTANT. Keeping connected and engaged is something that lets people know that you are really worth their time (and eventually their money if you sell a product or service).

I wasn’t planning on doing my own online course, but I was curious about the behind the scenes know how of all these free courses I’m getting so I signed up for this one from Gina Horkey & Carlos Aguilar.

 THIS from their course is what really made me want to look into it even more: “Courses are a great way to diversify your online business and get you closer to your goals of working from anywhere in the world and becoming your own boss.” ANYWHERE IN THE WORLD is important considering my life plan with The Emuna Endeavor!

On to it!

~~~

  1. Build an email list 
  • I’m using MailChimp because it’s FREE and that is my current budget, but there are a lot of companies that can do more for a small monthly fee.
  • I’m starting with my personal contacts and working out from there because that is what I have to work with currently.
  1. Research and Validate Your Course Idea
  • Everything I have read over the years points to WHATEVER you want to sell, it has to solve a problem to be successful at selling it.
  • Again, because I am *literally* starting from zero, I will be using Google’s FREE survey tool to ask people what problems they face.
  • A simple and basic sales point: ASK FOR THE SALE! Meaning, when you have a course idea, have a PayPal link to gather money for solving the problem.

(If you can’t deliver for any reason, promptly refund their money!)

 

What I’ve read from various sources about Funnel Survey marketing says a very similar thing to the above action steps. It’s all about ASKING WHAT PEOPLE WANT/NEED. If you don’t ASK, then you don’t know what would really be helpful to people.

Like most of the things I have been reading lately, it reinforces things that I learned years ago. I read a lot when I was in network marketing, I read a LOT of books about sales and business techniques. This course echoes the themes of all the other things I have read.

 

  1. Choose Your Courseware

HOW? — Email? Back-end of your website? On a hosted site? How do you know which is the right one for you? You have to decide what features are absolutely necessary to your course. (The full email course has all the information on how to find out what you need.)

 

  1. Build Out Your Course
  • Start with a strong outline. Break down the journey for your students.
  • Engage students by writing (or speaking if you are using video) in a clear and compelling manner.
  • If you can do a mixture of video and text, that can add value to your course.
  • Teach students what they need to know AND help them put it into practice (especially for the courses you are charging for).

 

  1. Launch!

If you have a product or course for sale and no buyers, it doesn’t mean much.
HOW TO FIND BUYERS:

  • Diligently build up your email list with people who are interested in learning what your course has to teach.
  • There are a TON of other ways to promote! (See the free email course for the full list.)

 

~~~

 

So after reading all of this, I am seriously considering launching a course based on what I have learned! I am still on Step One in this process, though. What you are reading here is my research process on HOW TO FIND PASSIVE INCOME IF YOU HAVE *NO* EXTRA MONEY TO INVEST. Wish me luck!

As with anything, there are steps and work to be done. If you came to my blog for easy answers, I’m afraid that they don’t exist here. If I DO find something that is quicker and/or easier, though, I will DEFINITELY post it here and let you know how it works for me.  🙂

Thanks for reading! 
~ Niccolea Miouo

 

 

You can check out the other posts in the “My Free Education” series here:
Part 1 – Branding
Part 2 – Increase Blog Traffic

Are you planning on launching an online course? Have you launched a course? What have you found in your research? How have things worked for you? I would love to hear about it in the comments! ^_^

Stop asking - Start working

 

saul night 1 - edited and cropped
Hi! My name is Niccolea Miouo Nance.  I am a poet, artist, amateur fire-spinner, and soon to be world traveler via sailboat. I love learning new things and challenging myself (hence this project). Above all else, I love to enjoy life and be spontaneous.

Leave a Reply

