An Absolute Beginner

So… here I am without any formal education in marketing of any kind (let alone online marketing). No degree in journalism or writing or art or anything that relates to the things that I do and now want to make money at. I have no experience in business and my only blogging and social media experience is strictly personal. I am like probably a lot of people out here: An absolute beginner.

Where do I even start?

I started the way that most makes sense in the 21st century: with a series of Google searches. I wish I had made a note of my search terms, but it was basically things like “how do I make passive income for free” or something else equally as obvious and simplistic. This of course released a deluge of links upon links upon links. I have been falling ever deeper down this rabbit hole of information and have yet to find a concrete ACTION to take that will make money. I want SOMETHING TO DO.

Well, I did find this one thing that was super sketchy as a way to make money relatively quickly without putting any funds out. It involved creating a fake identity and using that identity to in essence not just violate the terms of service of a free platform but to steal other people’s work! SHADE-EEEEE. So, yeah, NOT doing that option.

What else is there?

The other things all seem to require a skill set or experience level that I am simply not at right now. Affiliate marketing, Freelancing, professional blogging, eCommerce (selling my art and poetry for example), and other similar things seem to require setting up a website since most free platforms have terms that don’t allow people to make money. I don’t have the funds to pay someone to do the web design/programming for me, but am not super versed in coding to fix it up for myself. More learning to do!

In the search for something more plug and play, I am revisiting using Google Adsense. If you came here from one of my poetry, art, or culture blogs, then you know that I did some blog switching to try to use AdSense. It didn’t quite work out for me before and this new tack has only gotten $1.37 so far in 2016, but it is better than zero! I am going to be super diligent about making sure that the new account doesn’t violate any terms of service so by this time next year that one may be viable. Fingers crossed!

AdSense (and any other link-based money maker) does require something I don’t have much of yet: TRAFFIC. There are so many blog posts out there about how to get traffic to a site. Once I find the one thing (or combination of things) that works, I will let you know!

Looking forward…

I am hoping that by the end of this month I will have something concrete to start doing that will be the foundation to actually getting some funds in the accounts!

Thanks for reading!

What’s YOUR story? Are you using a free platform for your site or blog and making money legitimately? Did you find some quick and easy website coding tutorials? Whatever your story is, I would love to hear it in the comments below! ^_^

Placeholder Image

 

saul night 1 - edited and cropped
Hi! My name is Niccolea Miouo Nance.  I am a poet, artist, amateur fire-spinner, and soon to be world traveler via sailboat. I love learning new things and challenging myself (hence this project). Above all else, I love to enjoy life and be spontaneous.

Leave a Reply

